Keep the blues away with an observation a day #smallstone

Many thanks to Estrella Azul for introducing me to small stones. Small stones is a “mindful writing challenge created by Fiona Robyn of Writing our way home and it has been a tremendously positive influence in my life these past few weeks.

All you have to do is take a moment, each day, to notice your environment, to truly open your eyes, ears, nose, mouth and feel what’s happening around you rather than just glancing over it as we so often do in this busy, busy thing called life. Then simply write a line or two, (or seventeen if you want), showing that observation. Many people participating in the challenge post their small stones on their blog sites each day, (and they are beautiful).

One of the main reasons for writing small stones is to learn to take yourself out of the observation, to see the world around you rather than yourself in it. Although I immediately began writing small stones as soon as I read Estrella’s post, I was a bit reluctant to share them. Because of the Major Life Change I’m experiencing right now, I’m having some difficulty removing myself from the equation (as you will see when you visit my small stones page). While small stones may be intended as a writing exercise, helping us not only to write great description but also to edit, I am currently leaving mine “as is”. In a year or so I want to look back on the raw emotions I’m feeling now and [hopefully] marvel at how far I’ve come.

As I write a small stone each day, I can feel that I am indeed paying more attention to the world around me, rather than the struggles I’m facing inside my own world. In other words, writing the small stones is helping me to heal. And for that, Fiona and Estrella, I Thank You Very Much!

I hope you’ll join the challenge and feel the same healing power that small stones is giving me.

Click here to read my small stones.

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction.

Click here to subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder.

4 thoughts on “Keep the blues away with an observation a day #smallstone”

  1. Like you said, it is such a great thing to take myself out of the equation and notice the world, while also keeping in mind it’s okay to post what I feel in regards to some of the things happening every day this month. Hoping I’ll continue, even not publicly, throughout the year.

    I’ll share all my smallstones in a blog post at the end of the month since I didn’t want to post only a line or two per day when that would’ve been the case.

    It makes me so happy you are finding this a good addition to your daily routine, and hope you will look back at these and see the change, how far you’ve come.

    1. Estrella, you have helped me to see the more important things in life in more ways than one and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate that. Already I can see quite a difference in my view from the first stone I wrote to today’s. Some are so personal (not taking myself out of the equation) I’ve been tempted to remove them, but I feel that would be cheating so they shall stay.

      I love yours about the butter sizzling and can’t wait to hear the rest of the month’s!

  2. Remind me a lot of this poem by WH Davies,

    “What is this life if full of care
    We have no time to stand and stare?

    No time to stand beneath the boughs
    And stare as long as sheep, or cows.

    No time to see, when woods we pass,
    Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

    No time to see, in broad daylight,
    Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

    No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
    And watch her feet, how they can dance.

    No time to wait till her mouth can
    Enrich that smile her eyes began.

    A poor life this, if full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.”

    1. Exactly Icy. Thanks so much for taking the time to share that with us.
      I’m sorry to say I missed a couple days of stones because I was too sick to leave the house but last night gave me an eerie observation that I’m attempting to turn into a poem, (not sure why but I’m suddenly interested in writing poetry and I know nothing about “how” to). If I can tweak it to make it sound halfway intelligent I’ll post it. 🙂

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

