To take or not to take – PAD challenge #poetry #poems #amwriting

National Poetry Month 2013

How have you been doing with Robert Brewer’s Poem a Day challenge at Writer’s Digest? (If you’ve no idea what I’m talking about, see this post).

I’m happy, (and a bit surprised), to say I’ve written a poem each day this month. So far anyway. That’s not to say the poems are great, or even publishable, only that I’ve been writing; one day I even wrote two. So, the point of the PAD challenge is working for me, and I appreciate you very much, Mr. Brewer, for picking my fingers up and making them fly!

There have been some terrific poems in the comments section of the PAD posts; with so many poets expanding their imagination beyond all limits I’m left embarrassed at the thought of sharing the words I’ve tossed willy-nilly on the page. However, I’ve produced one that I rather like, (incidentally, the only one that has nothing at all to do with some part of my life), and I’d greatly appreciate your opinion – both for feel and for technicality.

This poem To take or not to take, was inspired by Day 3’s PAD prompt: ‘tentative’. I suppose the reason I like this one [more than the others] is because it’s one of those stories that flew at me in a rush the second my fingers hit the keyboard, (something all we writers know is too often rare and always cherished). That also means this is in first draft, (a.k.a., rough). Unfortunately, WP makes formatting poetry a bit difficult – the lines should be a single space closer to one another than they appear here. Okay, I’ll hush now and give you the poem:

To Take Or Not To Take, by Deanna Schrayer

He didn’t know what he was

doing, his filthy hands filching  

through her purse as she

chattered and chattered beyond the

closed door. “Did you see the look

on his face when I….”

Yadayadayada…..What

was he searching for? Lipstick? Face

powder? Her money,

encased in faux silver wallet,  

or flowery tissue that  

had swiped at her eyes

in the theater? What could

it be ——? A trinket? Was that it…

a souvenir?           No….

 

Nonono, he wouldn’t believe it!

This was not him. At all. 

 

Yet, as she opened the door he swiftly

              shoved her

gold-plated Zippo in

his pocket and

                         inched                        

                                    closer. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’d love to hear some of your poetry, if you feel comfortable with sharing feel free to leave a poem in the comments, or provide a link to the address your poetry resides.

I’ve written short stories for years and though I still enjoy penning those, I am having a blast with poetry!

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction. 

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder click the icon in the top right corner of this page that says “Follow This Side…Over Yonder via email”. 

 

9 thoughts on “To take or not to take – PAD challenge #poetry #poems #amwriting”

  1. It’s an interesting poem – I guess you would call this free form poetry wouldn’t you Deanna? I read it through a couple of times to get the rhythm of it. I must admit that free form poetry feels more like pros to me, but that’s just me. Anyway I liked it a lot.

    I’m happy to share with you here one of my favourite poems that I wrote a couple of years back. It was published in a magazine – I hope you like it. It’s called Delving Into Dali here’s the link http://helen-scribbles.com/2010/06/15/poem-delving-into-dali/

    1. Hi Helen. Maybe you could teach me a thing or two of poetry? For your Delving Into Dali is superb in its imagery.
      I have always loved poetry but have only recently started writing it so most of what I’m writing at the moment is free form, though I have written a few silly limericks as well. The bravest I’ve tried is a sestina, which I like but it needs a lot of work. I definitely need to be more disciplined, that’s for certain.
      Thanks so much for reading!

  2. Well done Deanna! I’ve never attempted RB’s poem a month challenge, and to be honest it always feels kinda of intimidating to me. I’m so happy that you have found a well, fountain from which to flow. You go Girl!

    I love this poem. There is such a strong story here and you have portrayed the characters very well.

    1. Thank you so much Elizabeth! And I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get over here and say that – it’s been one of those weeks. 🙂

    1. Thanks Jamie Lynn, great to hear from you! I confess, I didn’t write a poem every day, but I did at least make notes for ideas that I hope to get to soon.

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

