Randomness: NaShoStoMo, Be Aware, and a Love Story – #nashostomo

Hi ya’ll! It’s been such a busy week that – I’m sorry to say – I didn’t have time to prepare a #fridayflash, though I did start what I thought would be a flash but has turned out to be much longer and isn’t finished. Be sure to visit the Friday Flash Community, and join in the fun as we celebrate NaShoStoMo (National Short Story Month).

short story month logo

Speaking of NaShoStoMo, check out this fabulous site where you can read bookoos of stories; you can sort by story title or by author – and it’s all free! And when I say bookoos I mean a lot, (there 199 stories by Chekov alone). What could be better than free short stories? I just don’t know.

I’m ashamed that I missed posting for Fibromyalgia Awareness Day, which was last Sunday, May 12th, but you can still find all the resources you need to learn more about fibromyalgia, how to help those living with the hateful illness and how to cope. The fibromyalgia series I did a couple of years ago on my former site, The Life of a Working Writer Mommy, is still available – visit my Wandering Wonderings page for links to the [five-part] posts.

And now, a love story for you via the incredibly talented, (and beautiful), Greta Bellamacina. I am so glad I discovered this gem of a video for it is absolutely gorgeous. Watch!

 

I hope you have enjoyed this bit of randomness to start your weekend. Have a great one!

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction. 

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder click the icon in the top left corner of this page that says “Follow This Side…Over Yonder.

5 thoughts on “Randomness: NaShoStoMo, Be Aware, and a Love Story – #nashostomo”

  1. I’ve been enjoying short story month. It’s gotten me to knock two anthologies off my reading list, both of which are splendid: Feeling Very Strange and Doors of his Mouth. I have two more anthologies I want to knock off before the end of May, but if I need more, I’ll definitely pop over to that site!

  2. Thanks for the link Deanna. I’m going to go have a gander over there. 🙂
    How you doing with the FM? Hope its in remission. 🙂

  3. Ah yes, short stories are wonderful aren’t they? I seem to be gravitating towards writing more shorts (whereas I was, at one point, working on a novel). I just enjoy the shorts so much more, how they – in order to be successful – must get to the meat of the story right away, and you don’t have to read through a bunch of backstory (as with too many novels) to get to it.
    John, thanks for the recommendation, the anthologies are now on my reading list (as if it weren’t big enough, I’ve over 250 books listed, so I try to be picky when choosing the next one).
    Elizabeth, the FM is doing okay, thankfully. The heat is really getting to me, (and it’s barely been over 80 here!), but it’s been a great help to be able to set aside all the emotional….”junk”….which is the biggest cause of my flares. Not that the emotional junk is over, I’m just ignoring it for the time being. 🙂

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

