The Flight #fridayflash #amwriting #fiction

frdayflashbadge02

Thank you for stopping in to read my #fridayflashBe sure to visit the Friday Flash community to read more fabulous flash fiction by outstanding authors.

My story this week – The Flight, is rated PG-13 according to my standards.

Image via Wikipedia
Image via Wikipedia

The Flight, by Deanna Schrayer

Cassie stood silent beside Pat as he booked their flight home. She kept watch over her flip-flopped feet as if they may take off without her any second.

“Do you have a preference of airline sir?” the attendant asked.

“No, it doesn’t matter,” Pat answered, “we just need to get home as quick as we can.”

“We have two seats available on a flight that boards soon, but they aren’t together.”

“That’s fine,” Pat said, opening his wallet and flipping through his credit cards.   

Cassie sniffled and rocked sideways. There was a heavy pressure on her chest. It was all she could do to stand still, to not turn and run out of the airport, back to a safe place where no trouble awaited her. To a place where her daughter was alive and well, at home where she belonged, waiting patiently for her mother’s return. To a place where the guilt didn’t plague her like leprosy.

The attendant handed the tickets to Pat and told him they should go to the gate right away.

“Thank you,” Cassie said offhandedly as she speed-walked to catch up with Pat. 

Pat wore his anger for her like a magic cloak, and it didn’t seem he’d be taking it off anytime soon.

“Do I have a window seat?” Cassie asked Pat as they stood in line. It was the only thing she could think of to get him started talking.

His face morphed to the color of ripe peaches. He grit his teeth and pushed his hair back off his forehead. “Your daughter is dying and all you want to know is if you have a fucking window seat or not?” He shook his head and turned away from her, walking ahead to bridge the gap that had formed in the line. Strangers stared, mouths agape.

“Honey….” Cassie tried, but he kept his gaze straight ahead as they walked to the plane. He took long strides to get ahead of her. She wasn’t sure what she wanted him to say, but anything would be better than the lingering silence she knew was coming. Anything at all.

 *****

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction. 

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder click the icon in the top left corner of this page that says “Follow This Side…Over Yonder”

22 thoughts on “The Flight #fridayflash #amwriting #fiction”

  1. wow that was a blow delivered right into the solar plexus! I have to admit I will no longer fly, the one irrational fear I possess. My son when he grows up wants to live in the US. If he brings that about, I won’t be visiting, unless by boat. So I understand some of the powerful emotions flying about here.

    1. I’m right there with you Marc (but on the other side of the pond) 🙂 I don’t enjoy flying either, more so because I’m claustrophobic, instead of the usual fear of a crash, I just don’t like being stuck in a place I know I can’t get up and walk out of.
      So glad you enjoyed the story!

  2. Ooo Deanna! Now I’m wanting to know the rest of the story. Loved both characters and intensity of emotions. I can just imagine seeing that little scenario playing out in an airport. Gripping stuff. Well done. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Elizabeth! If – when? – I ever get around to it there will be more of this story as it is actually just a short scene from that novel I was writing….ummmm…..years ago….

  3. Great line: “Pat wore his anger for her like a magic cloak…” That does so much…shows how unaccessible he is, and how he’s protecting himself by choosing anger over anything else.

    Well done. Like Helen, I want to know what happens next.

    1. It’s always nice to hear that what I intended was the same as what was perceived. 🙂 Thanks so much Peggy!

  4. This is such an emotional piece. One thing confused me a bit. The phrase, “To a place where her daughter was alive and well…” made me think the daughter was dead. But later the father says, “Your daughter is dying…” which, of course, indicates she is still alive.

    1. Thanks so much for mentioning that line Tim because I felt there was something “wrong” with it but couldn’t put my finger on it. Now I know it doesn’t sound “right” because I’m the only one who knows what happens before this scene – duh 😉 (Her daughter is in a bad car crash while she’s at the beach for some ‘me’ time, and her husband had to physically go get her because she wouldn’t answer his calls). Okay, maybe I’m giving too much away here. 🙂
      Thank you!

      1. Bwahaha – if this story ever gets finished I would bet my bottom dollar that whole scenario will change anyway. 🙂

  5. Nice piece – fear and grief wreak havoc on relationships, and even normally easygoing people can become snappish and overwrought. Add to that the fear/stress of flying and you’ve got a real pressure cooker!

    1. Thanks so much Lisa! You’re right, it’s amazing what fear and grief will do to us and how it will cause us to hurt our loved ones even when we don’t mean to.

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

