Got books? Time to celebrate! #reading #book lovers day

book love 1

If you’re a habitual reader, (like I am), then today is your day to celebrate – it’s Book Lovers Day! If you don’t read much but wish you did, today is the perfect day to curl up with a good book and start forming the healthy habit of becoming a regular reader. Reading is known to not only improve brain function but also help us in even more positive ways.

Many people claim they have no time to read; this is something I’ve never understood. What about all those minutes, (which build into hours), you’re sitting at a red light and wishing it would hurry up and turn green? What’s your rush anyway? And those of you who use public transportation have even greater opportunity for time to read. You aren’t going to get to your destination any faster, so why not use that blessing of time [to yourself] to read? Just keep a book, or, if you’re an eBook reader, your tablet, with you at all times and you’re set! And that’s just one chance. Be aware of how you spend your free time and you’ll soon find ample opportunities to read, read, read.

“My Alma mater was books, a good library… I could spend the rest of my life reading, just satisfying my curiosity.”  Malcolm X

Although I have been lazy about updating my bookshelf lately, I have read several books since the last update in August. Here are a few of the best:

The Hot Country, Robert Olen Butler ~ Rated 5 There is a reason Robert Olen Butler’s work has won the Pulitzer Prize. The Hot Country, a Christopher Marlow Cobb thriller, is one of his best yet!

This Side of Brightness, by Colum McCann ~ Rated 4.5 I love how McCann takes us into a world most people never even get a glimpse of, and he shows us precisely how “full” that world is. The characters here are especially compelling.

Odd Apocalypse, Dean Koontz ~ Rated 5 It’s Dean Koontz, it’s Odd Thomas, what more could you ask for? Superb work!

I would be hard-pressed to choose a favorite read from 2013 as I’ve had the pleasure of reading several great stories. Check out my bookshelf for short reviews. What is the best book you’ve read this year? Do you have any helpful hints for those who are having difficulty finding time to read? I hope you’ll share your secrets with us! Have a beautiful and blessed Book Lovers Day!

Click here to follow me on Facebook, and here to follow me on Twitter.

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction. 

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder click the icon in the top left corner of this page that says “Follow This Side…Over Yonder via email”.

2 thoughts on “Got books? Time to celebrate! #reading #book lovers day”

    1. I’m sure you’ll love This Side of Brightness Richard. I also have Transatlantic on the (much too long) list and am anxious to get to it.

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

