Best of 2013

The Accursed world of MaddAddam forced Doctor Sleep to embark upon a Transatlantic journey of The Hot Country to deliver Life After Life to The Woman Upstairs OR The Best Reads of 2013

Best of 2013
Image by Deanna Schrayer

The New York Times recently published their annual Most Notable Books of the year. I must say they chose well. 2013 has been a fantastic year for reading! Of course perusing their list resulted in too many more “to be read” titles added to my reading list.

At least half the books I read this year were actually published in 2013 (usually I tend to read more classics or older books). Here are twenty of my favorite reads of 2013, (in no particular order), most, but not all, published this year. Be sure to browse my bookshelf for short reviews of these and others.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? What was your favorite read this year?   

MaddAddam, by Margaret Atwood 

Doctor Sleep, by Stephen King 

Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson 

The Woman Upstairs, by Claire Messud 

Let the Great World Spin, by Colum McCann 

Transatlantic, by Colum McCann 

This Side of Brightness, by Colum McCann

The Accursed, by Joyce Carol Oates 

Ghosting, by Kirby Gann

The Liar’s Club, a memoir, by Mary Karr 

Lit, a memoir, by Mary Karr 

Live by Night, by Dennis Lehane 

Deadlock, by James Scott Bell 

Case Histories, by Kate Atkinson; indeed, her whole series on Jackson Brodie 

The House of the Seven Gables, by Nathaniel Hawthorne 

The Hot Country, by Robert Olen Butler 

Just Kids, a memoir by Patti Smith 

The Night in Question: Stories, by Tobias Wolff 

The Best American Short Stories of 2012  ~ about halfway with this one now, excellent stories!

The Invisibles, by Hugh Sheehy ~ also about halfway with this one, outstanding work!

Whew, that’s a lot of links! 🙂 

Click here to follow me on Facebook, and here to follow me on Twitter.

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction. 

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder click the icon in the top left corner of this page that says “Follow This Side…Over Yonder via email”.

11 thoughts on “The Accursed world of MaddAddam forced Doctor Sleep to embark upon a Transatlantic journey of The Hot Country to deliver Life After Life to The Woman Upstairs OR The Best Reads of 2013”

  1. Wow, you do a lot of reading Deanna. I know I should too, but I just can’t do the novel. Most of them bore me to tears from the first page and once I’ve lost interest it’s over. Although, I do believe I’ve read one of them thar, Best American Short Story compliations. Just not sure it is the 2012 edition.

    1. Yes, I read constantly Elizabeth, taking a book with me everywhere I go. If only I would put the books down and WRITE more often…..
      I think you’d like Mary Karr’s memoirs, The Liar’s Club and Lit, and I know you’d love her poetry so you should check those out asap. 🙂

      1. I have a bunch of art books I need to return to the library Deanna, so I’ll have a look for her then. 🙂

    1. I love Edgar Allen Poe Helen! And the great thing is that my youngest son, who is 14 now, likes his work too, we often read him together.
      Have you read Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake trilogy (MaddAddam is the last)? I can easily see you loving it.

      1. If you’re anything like me Helen, once you read a terrific book you’ll just have to read everything else the author has ever written. Margaret Atwood’s work did this for me tenfold. The first book of hers I read was The Handmaid’s Tale and not just the story but her intelligence knocked me off my feet. I read The Blind Assassin next and it was just after I finished this one that Oryx and Crake came out. Knowing your penchant for fantasy, I am certain you will be as hooked as I am.

    1. So glad to hear you read a lot too John. At this point I’ve read 60 books this year and after I finish the ones I’m on now, and the couple I have on the top of the ‘to be read’ pile, I should reach 65 by year end. That is actually quite low for me, I normally read around 90-100, but several of those I’ve read this year have been very long.

      I’d love to join the blog hop! I’ll likely copy this post and include the reviews in the new one, rather than pointing to my bookshelf. Thanks for making me aware of this!

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

