Ah, the memories….. #fridayflash #Christmas #holiday

Image by Deanna Schrayer
Image by Deanna Schrayer

I love to flip through memories as a way to relax during this hectic time of year. As I reflect in my essay, There are Stories to be Told, if we don’t capture the myriad memories of our lives by writing them down, they could too easily fade into the distant past and be forever lost. Had I not jotted down the conversation [below] with my youngest son, Noah, eleven-years-old at the time, I may have forgotten it. I stumbled upon this from a past blog and just had to share, again. I hope you get as much of a kick out of it as I have.

Conversation between mother and son, Christmas time

Noah: I want a power scooter for Christmas, and that’s all.

Noah: I want a skateboard for Christmas, and that’s all.

Noah: And I want swords like Tyler and Skyler, and that’s all.

Noah: I want a flashlight and batteries to make it work, and that’s all. That’s all I want for Christmas.

Me: Do you know what I want for Christmas?

Noah: What?

Me: I want all my family to be happy.

Noah: *rolls eyes*

Me: And I want tickets to see Bruce Springsteen, and tickets to see Keith Urban, and tickets to see the Tennessee Vols play football, and a new car, and someone to remodel my house, and a new wardrobe and a make-up artist, and a hair dresser, and a new bathroom, and a mud pit, and…

Noah: I’m sorry, I don’t want to listen anymore.

Me: But I didn’t say that to you.

Noah: That’s because I was done!

********

During that same time, in 2010, I wrote a Friday Flash inspired by something my oldest son had said when he was four-years-old. I hope you get a chance to sit back, relax and enjoy the story Christmas is Over!, on my former fiction site The Other Side of Deanna, here.

I wish you all a blessed Christmas and fantastic New Year!

Click here to follow me on Facebook, and here to follow me on Twitter.

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction. 

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder click the icon in the top left corner of this page that says “Follow This Side…Over Yonder via email”.

.

5 thoughts on “Ah, the memories….. #fridayflash #Christmas #holiday”

  1. Haha, too funny Deanna. I could kick myself over the lost gems of conversations I had with Bo. So glad you were wise enough to capture and save yours. Merry Christmas. May it be a day of joy and happiness for you all. xx 🙂

    1. Glad you enjoyed it Elizabeth. If only I were able to record every conversation I’ve ever had with the boys, I would have. 🙂

  2. I want some of those things that you want too, Deanna, especially the new car and the house re-modelling. 🙂

    Noah’s last line is a beauty, I just had to smile at his insight. 🙂

    1. Yea, I’m still waiting Steve…. 🙂
      As teenagers now my boys still come out with some of the funniest lines I’ve ever heard. They are gems for sure!

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

