The Other Side of Deanna is back! And she even has a name….. #fridayflash group

Hi everyone. Some of you may recall that I had two separate blogs, The Life of a Working Writer Mommy for my nonfiction, and The Other Side of Deanna for my fiction. A little more than a year ago I combined those blogs into This Side Over Yonder because I was posting mostly fiction and felt it was cumbersome to maintain two sites. I also wanted the URL to reflect my name, which This Side Over Yonder does.

Now, since I am fortunate enough to have more time to write, and because I will be posting more nonfiction articles, I have built a new site for my fiction, The Tale Well: Stories by Roslyn Fain.

TTW header 1

Years ago I wondered why anyone would want to use a pen name; now that I’m building my freelance career. yet still want to write fiction, I understand. Although Deanna and Roslyn are one-in-the-same, there is a vast difference in their personalities…..did I just say I have a split personality? Well, I am a writer!…..there is the business side of me (Deanna) and there is the playful side (Roslyn) and I feel they both deserve their own place.

Why the name Roslyn Fain? Fain is my mother’s maiden name and Roslyn was the first thing that popped into my head (which I always go with). It is apparently an old-fashioned name, had its peak in the 1940s, and fell off the “popular names” list in 1978. My family tells me I do look like a Roslyn, so there you go. I hope you’ll stop by The Tale Well and enjoy Roslyn’s first story, Those First Nights.

What about you? Do you use a pen name? What is it, and how did you hit upon that particular name? (If you’re using your pen name be brave and tell us your real name). 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Click here to follow me on Facebook,and here to follow me on Twitter.

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction.

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder look to the top left corner of this page; there are different methods of following, choose the one that’s right for you. 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Other Side of Deanna is back! And she even has a name….. #fridayflash group”

  1. That’s cool about your pen name — both names seem to suit your on-line voice.

    When I started blogging, it was entirely under The Eyrea. It was (deliberately) difficult to find out my real name and physical location. There were good reasons for that at the time, but I’ve gradually eased into just using my own name for everything. I always thought I’d use a pen name for books just because so many people mangle the spelling and pronunciation of my last name, but in the age of hyperlinks I don’t think that’s as big a concern anymore (famous last words).

    I’m glad you’re using Roslyn. I rather like that name.

    1. I understand exactly what you mean Katherine, on both counts. Having been stalked (in my early 20s) it took quite a while for me to be comfortable with “putting myself out there” and even when I gave in I made my location intentionally vague.
      It is rare for anyone to pronounce either my first or my last name correctly (if not both). Most people say DeAnna Sshrader but it is Deena Sshra’er. I’m glad Roslyn Fain is easy. 🙂

  2. I like the pen name you’ve chosen. No I’ve never used a pen name I did think about writing under my maiden name just cause I liked the sound of it – H .A. Taylor – it sorta sounded right, but I never did in the end.

    1. I like the sound of that too Helen, and it suits you, but so does Howell. I thought of using my maiden name too – Gentry – but I felt Fain sounded better with Roslyn (and since it comes before G in the alphabet my books, in a book store, have a better chance of being picked up instead of skimmed over). 😉

    1. Yes, two blogs is a lot of work and if I happen to get a “regular” job anytime soon (which is needed) I may not have as much time as I’d like to post to both but I’m trying to have that “I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it” attitude.

  3. That’s a great sounding name, Deanna. I’m all for old-fashioned. I’ll be happy to visit at the well.

    Best wishes for your fiction writing.

    I write as Kevin J Mackey, simply because I like the name.

    1. Hey Kevin, so great to hear from you! Does that mean Kevin J. Mackey is not your real name? I’ve always liked it too.

  4. The only pen name I’ve ever used was Ethel Mudpuddle – I once had a Facebook page under that name just so I could make snarky comments and entertain a few friends and co-workers. (It’s now defunct.) All of my “serious” writing has been under my real name. Roslyn Fain has a great ring to it, and it’s unique – great choice!

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.

