The Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Nurse #fridayflash #amwriting #fiction

frdayflashbadge02

Thank you for stopping in to read my #fridayflash. Be sure to visit the Friday Flash Community for more great flash fiction by outstanding authors! The Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Nurse, possibly the shortest flash I’ve ever written, is rated PG-13, according to my standards.

 mad nurse framed

The Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Nurse, by Deanna Schrayer

The nurse stretched her thin lips wide to reveal a mouth full of jagged brown teeth. She held the needle up beside my face, and though her lips didn’t move, I felt her sour breath lick my ear. “Don’t worry,” she said, just before this….this noise escaped her….It wasn’t so much a laugh as it was an otherworldly gleeful madness erupting from her gut. “Don’t worry,” she’d said, and pointed the needle towards my neck, “this won’t hurt a bit.”

*****************************************************

I just finished a couple of terrific reads, (one of which has inspired me to dribble out all sorts of, I gotta say it – mad – stories like this one) – be sure to stop and browse my bookshelf while you’re here.

Click here to follow me on Facebook,and here to follow me on Twitter.

Click here for fiction, and here for nonfiction.

To subscribe to This Side….Over Yonder look to the top left corner of this page; there are different methods of following, choose the one that’s right for you. 

14 thoughts on “The Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Nurse #fridayflash #amwriting #fiction”

  1. I am so afraid of dentists I haven’t been to one in 20 years. If I have tooth problems, I go to hospital emergency. That is quite a discomfiting set of gnashers in the photo. In a way, it’s a relief the nurse was using a hypodermic given that she could just have sunk her teeth into the skin!

  2. This reminds me of that old contra-saying: “This’ll hurt you more than it hurts me.” And I agree with the previous post. The line about the breath licking the ear is priceless. I wish I would have thought of it. (Turning green now) Thank you for sharing your imagination.

  3. Great drabble! Medical people are always so weird about needles. I hate it when they say, “and now you’ll feel a little pinch…” um, that’s not a pinch. It’s not a big deal, but it’s not a pinch.

  4. Thank you all so much for your kind comments, and for the tweets! And I apologize for having taken so long to say that, crazy week.
    Yes, dentists can be quite scary sometimes can’t they?

Open your mind, open your heart and open your mouth. I love hearing from my readers so please leave a comment.